BJP retains Hamirpur Zila Parishad


    Hamirpur (Jan 5) BJP retained its hold over the Hamirpur Zila parishad by claiming twelve out of eighteen seats, the results of which were declared early this morning and late last night.

    Two BJP rebels were also elected as Zila Parishad members and extended their full support to the party immediately after their elections results were announced.

    With, the BJP also winning majority in all the six Block Samitis of the district, it is finalized that the posts of Chairman and Vice Chairman in these Samitis will go to BJP.

    Hamirpur is the home district of Chief Minister, Prem Kumar Dhumal.
    Congress party could get just two seats and two were won by independents having the backing of Congress party and the CPM respectively.

    Surprisingly, the Congress party candidate, Promila Devi won for the successive second time from Shamirpur Ward, the home segment of the Chief Minister, Prem Kumar Dhumal.

    The winners from Hamirpur included Promila Devi, Joginder Kumar, Arvinder Kaur Rani, Lekh Raj, Sushil Soni, Anjana Kumari, Sarla Dogra, Anil Kumar, Bimla Devi, Madan Lal, Raj Kumari, Sarla Sharma, Yashbir Singh, Shyam Singh, Asha Devi, Naresh Kumar, Chandu Lal and Neelam Kumari.

    Des Raj, the district BJP chief thanked the people of Hamirpur for giving overwhelming support to the party candidates and supporters in the Panchayati raj institutions and local Civic body polls.

    He claimed that the BJP maintained its hold in the district and credit for this went to the pro-people policies of the Chief Minister, Prem Kumar Dhumal.

    Previous articleSJVN inks pact with Transparency International for better functioning
    Next articleHigher reaches of HP plunged under bone chilling cold

    No posts to display