Cong retains Shimla Zila Parishad


    Shimla (Jan 5) Opposition Congress retained Shimla Zila Parishad seat by bagging 14 seats out of 24 in Shimla Zila Parishad poll held in three phase on Dec 28, 30, 2010 and Jan 1, 2011 in the district.
    The results were announced last midnight here today.

    Although, the election for Zila Parishad were not held on party ticket, however the candidates were projected by different parties in the state. According, to the result Congress remained dominant getting 14 seats, BJP 7, CPI-M 2 and independent one.

    Congress supported candidates declared victorious form Rampur-Sarahan, Khuni-Panuli, Khasdhar, Makredi, Manta, Dhgoli, Bemta, Nerwa, Japdimata, Jarol, Chaili, Samdhu, Basantpur, Chamyana.

    BJP backed candidates emerged victorious from Baladaiana, Throla, Ticker, Rohru, Dhal, Deorighati and Narain.
    CPI-M supported from Anandpur and Jakhari and Indpendent Ghunda.

    CPI-M candidate, Rina Thakur declared elected from Anandpur ZP seat by huge margin of more than 2000 votes. The election was an acid test for BJP, as it had four MLA (including associate) and two MP from this district.
    Congress retained seat by winning similar number of seats as it was in previous ZP.

    Out of 10 blocks of Shimla district elections were held for 179 seats, in which most of it had gone in favour of Congress backed candidates as Congress claimed victory over 100 seats and CPI-M claimed 18 rest 61 was bagged by BJP and an independent.

    Previous articleTwo families rendered homeless after a fire mishap in Pangi
    Next articleSJVN inks pact with Transparency International for better functioning

    No posts to display