Mixed bag for Congress and BJP in Himachal civic elections



Shimla (Jan 3): Ruling BJP and opposition Congress got a mixed mandate in the municipal and nagar panchayat polls as suggested by initial results after counting started at 5 pm today.

According to preliminary reports arriving here, in Shimla district, in Kotkhai nagar panchayat BJP got 5 seats while Congress and an independent bagged one each. The president and vice-president were elected from the Congress.

In Rohru NP, Congress got 5, BJP and independent one each and president and VP were elected from CPIM. For Suni NP, BJP gor 3, Cong 2, independent 2, while president and VP posts went to BJP. In Narkanda, NP Congress won 4, BJP 3 and president post went to am independent while the VP seat was bagged by BJP. For Jubbal NP, Cong 5, BJP 2, president and VP BJP; Theog NP- Cong 1, BJP 4, Ind 2. President BJP and VP Ind. For Chopal NP, BJP 4, Cong 2, Ind 1, President BJP and VP Cong. Rampur NP – Cong 4, BJP 3, President and VP Cong.

In Hamirpur, Bhota NP- BJP 5, Cong. 1, President and vice-president Cong; Naudan BJP 4, Cong 3, President and VP Cong; Sujanpur Tirra NP Cong 5, BJP 1, Ind 1, President and VP Cong; and Hamirpur municipal council (MC) BJP 8, Cong 2, Ind 1, President and VP BJP.

Final score card:

BJP: 234
Congress: 218
Others: 42

Presidents                Vice-presidents

BJP 20                              18
Cong 18                            21
Others 10                        09

Palampur: Cong 6, BJP one; president and vice-president Cong
Kangra: Ind 5, Cong 2, president Cong, VP Ind
Jawalimukhi: Cong 7, persident and VP Cong
Nurpour: Cong 7, president and VP Cong
Dharamsala: BJP 7, Cong 4; president Indl VP BJP
Nagrota Bangwan: president Ind; VP Cong
Dehra: president and VP BJP
Nainadevi: BJP 5, Cong 2; president and VP BJP
Shahtalai: BJP 5, Cong 2, president Cong, VP Cong
Gumarwin: BJP 4, Cong 2, president Ind, VP Cong
Bilaspur: Cong 7, BJP 3, Ind 2, presdient BJP, VP Cong
Kunihar: BJP 6, Cong 1, president Cong, VP BJP
Baddi: Cong 6, BJP 3, president and VP Cong
Solan: BJP 8, Cong 4, Ind 1, president and VP BJP
Gagrest: BJP 7, Cong 1, president and VP BJP
Daultpur: BJP 3, Cong 3, Ind 1, president and VP BJP
Una: BJP 4, Cong 3, presdent BJP and VP Ind
Santokhagarh: BJP 9, persident and VP BJP
Mehtpur: BJP 7, Cong 2, president and VP BJP
Chawari: BJP 7, Cong 4, president and VP BJP
Dalhousie: Cong 6, BJP 3, president and VP Cong
Chamba: BJP 3, Cong 3, president Ind, VP Cong
Kullu: Cong 6, BJP 4, Ind 1, president BJP, VP Cong
Banjar: Cong 4, Ind 2, BJP 1, president BJP and VP Cong
Manali: Presdient Ind, VP BJP
Bhuntar: president and VP Cong
Mandi: BJP 5, Cong 7, Ind 1

Previous articleAbout 65% voting in Himachal civic body polls
Next articleNational Ice Skating Championships kicks off in Shimla

No posts to display