Congress retains Shimla Town Hall



Shimla: Congress has won 15 of the 25 seats in the Shimla Municipal Corporation elections that went to polls on May 23. While, early in the day, it seemed that BJP would be able to topple the Congress apple cart, Congress bounced back in the second round of votes counting. BJP was able to get just two seats in the second round, taking its final tally to 8. CPI(M) won two seats.

While its some good news for Himachal Congress, particularly in the wake of Hamirpur parliamentary elections on the anvil. However, there are grey areas, as Congress lost three major seats of strong hold Jakhoo, Lower Bazaar and Phagli, where BJP made inroads with independent candidates and CPI(M) eating into the Congress vote bank. At the same time, Congress gained in Kanlog, Kasumpti and Dhalli, where in a direct fight it defeated BJP with a grand margin. BJP lost its one strong hold Kaithu to Congress.

Congress has won due to merger of new areas and looking at the populace in these areas its choice of candidates from upper Shimla area and those from rural background clicked. The Congress managed to nip the anti-incumbency wave through these aces. The BJP could not cash in the wave due to its failure to choose the right candidates and lack of leadership in Shimla.

Congress could defeat BJP in only one ward of Kanlog, while BJP has intruded into the Congress forts of Jakhoo, Lower Bazaar and Phagli.

BJP maintained its four seats of Annadale Nabha Ram Bazaar and Ruldu Bhatta.

Watch out this space for details.

Previous articleFlash: Congress makes late comeback in Shimla MC polls; takes 13 so far
Next articleHimachal Cong should get a booster with Shimla win

No posts to display