Flash: BJP heading for win in Shimla MC polls; 8 seats won till now



Shimla: BJP has reigned in 6 seats off the 12 seats in the first round of counting of the Shimla municipal corporation (MC) polls. Congress was able to win only five, while CPI won 1.

The counting for the second round is on of which three results have come in and both BJP and Congress have won 2 and 1 seats respectively. That takes the count for BJP to 8 and for Congress to 6. CPI was leading in 2 seats in the second round when reports last came in.

Interestingly, Congress lost its Jakhu seat, which is important in the sense that it’s Himachal Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh’s resdience area. Manoj Kuthiala of BJP won the seat.

Congress stalwarts like Ashok Sood and Chandrashekhar Chinnu of the Congress have also lost.

Keep watching this space for more updates.

Previous articleFlash: BJP wins 4, Congress 3, CPI 1 in Shimla MC elections
Next articleFlash: Congress makes late comeback in Shimla MC polls; takes 13 so far

No posts to display