Hamirpur to bye-poll on June 2



    Shimla: The bye-elections for the Hamirpur parliamentary constuency, Himachal Pradesh, would be held on June 2, 2007, according to an official release from the office of the Election Commission of India.

    The Hamirpur seat had felt vacant when BJP MP, Suresh Chandel ceased to be a member of the Lok Sabha, following the adoption of the motion calling for his expulsion along with other nine members on December 23, 2005. The members, as a part of the Cobrapost-Aaj Tak sting operation, had been caught on camera taking money for putting questions in the Parliament.

    Notification for the Parliamentary Constituency bye-elections would be issued on May 8, last date for making nominations on May 15, 2007 and scrutiny of nominations would be undertaken on May 16, 2007.

    Last date for withdrawal of candidature would be on May 18, polling would take place on June 2, while the counting of votes would be done on June 5. The process would be completed by June 8.

    With the announcement of schedule for bye-elections for the Model Code of conduct in the hamirpur constituency has come into force with immediate effect, in the districts in which the whole or any part of Parliamentary Constituency going for bye-elections is included i.e. districts Hamirpur, Bilaspur, Una and Kangra.

    The Commission has decided to use electronic voting machines (EVMs) in this bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs are available in the State and all steps will be taken to ensure that the poll is conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

    In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in this bye-elections at the time of poll. In order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Roll, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents, apart from the Electors, Photo Identity Cards, for identification of voters at the time of poll in this bye-election.

    Previous articleColours speak for the disabled in Himachal
    Next articleMexican tourist traced

    No posts to display