All new Himachal MLAs take oath


    All the member of newly elected 13th State legislative unicameral Assembly today took oath on the first day of Winter Session convened at Tapovan in Dharamshala this morning along with 25 newly elected Assembly faces who turned up and assembled in the House wearing color attires. Protem Speaker Mr Ramesh Dhawala welcomed all the new and old members and conducted the Oath ceremony which lasted for almost one and half hours. The Session proceedings began with the oath of five-time member of Assembly and leader of House and Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur with the beating of the desks by the member of treasury benches.

    All the ministers of CM Thakur Council, leader of Congress legislative Party Mr. Mukesh Agnihotri, former Chief Minister Mr. Virbhadra Singh and all the 67 members of Assembly baring protem speaker took the oath. Mr. Virbhadra Singh(83), his first time Elected son Mr. Vikramaditya Singh(28) – CPI(M) MLA from Theog, Mr. Rakesh Singha – BJP member form Nurpur, Mr. Rakesh Pathania, Cong member Mr. Anirudh Singh and Hosiyar Singh including eight members took oath in English and others in Hindi.

    Read: Committee to explore zero budget natural farming opportunities in Himachal

    Member of both sides beat the desks when their members were called for the oath by the Vidhan Sabha Secretary one after other. As the House assembled today before the swearing-in ceremony Mr. Jai Ram Thakur along with his Cabinet members went up to the seat of former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and shook hands and also warmly welcomed the newly elected members.

    Mr. Ram Lal Markenday who is Cabinet member was wearing Maroon Lahuali cap wearing the crowned cap. Similarly Former Deputy Speaker Mr. Jagat Singh Negi was wearing the green crowned cap and few other members from Kullu, Kinnaur and Shimla were bearing marooned and green caps in the House.

    The old members and guest gallery were occupied in the House by former speaker BBL Butail former Member of Parliament from Mandi and wife of Virbhadra Singh Ms. Pratibha Singh were present in the gallery. Moreover, entire spectators gallery was occupied fully in the House. Later the Speaker adjourned the House proceeding for the day. Protem Speaker Mr. Ramesh Dhawala had already administered the Oath by Himachal Pradesh Governor for the member of Himachal Pradesh Assembly and Protem Speaker.

    Also check: Internet in Kangra Valley

    Previous articleCommittee to explore zero budget natural farming opportunities in Himachal
    Next articleNo more ‘Achche Din’ for mafia: Himachal CM
    ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

    No posts to display