Virbhadra Singh accepts Assembly election defeat, tenders resignation to Governor


    Six-times Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister today accepted his political defeat in the State Assembly election as party’s number in the State assembly reduced to 21 from 36 as the BJP got the clear majority after getting 44 seats in Assembly election result declared yesterday. Mr Singh rushed to Rajbhavan this morning and submitted the resignation letter to HP State Governor Acharya Devvrat tendering resignation as the Chief Minister and that of the Council of Ministers.

    The Governor has accepted the resignation and requested him to continue in office along with his Council of Ministers to discharge the functions till an alternative arrangement is made or new Government is formed.

    Also read: Gudiya gangrape case update

    Mr. Singh faced major debacle in the Assembly election as including five cabinet member of his Council of Minister lost the Assembly election and party senior leader like Kuldeep Singh from Chintpurni, Rakesh Kalia from Gagret, Rajesh Dharmani from Ghumerwin, Gangu Ram Musafir from Pachhad, Mansa Ram Karsog, Chander Kumar from Jawali, Kuldeep Singh Panthania from Bhatiyat, Rohit Thakur from Jubbal Kotkhai and Viplav Thakur from Dehra, Ram Kumar from Doon, Harbhajan Singh Bhaji from Shimla have to face the major defeat and many of them were pushed to third or fourth positions.

    Virbhadra Singh took as the Chief Minister of HP on Dec 25 in 2012 after Congress got 36 seats in the state assembly. The party lost due to the number of rebels in the fray Shimla, Shahpur and Darang seats.

    Also check: Internet in Kangra Valley

    Previous articleGudiya gangrape case: Court defers hearing on CBI plea to get voice samples of cops
    Next articleCentral BJP observers rush to Shimla to discuss future government formation
    ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

    No posts to display