HP elections: Counting of HP Assembly poll tomorrow


    HP Assembly Counting

    Counting of the HP Assembly poll would be held tomorrow at 48 counting centres for 68 assembly seats, including 18 women candidates 237 contestants are in the fray. Chief Electoral Officer Mr Pushpinder Rajpoot said that all arrangements have been completed to ensure peaceful conduct of counting process would start simultaneously at 48 counting centres in the State at 0800 hours.

    A total number of 2820 Counting staff for HP Assembly poll counting has been deployed which includes 940 supervisors, 940 counting assistants and 940 micro-observers throughout the state. There will be 781 counting Tables and 68 R.O.s Tables for counting. He said that wire mesh barricading to 8 feet up to 10 feet has been done at counting centres and a separate entry passage for counting staff and counting agents. Three-Tier Security arrangements have been made at all counting centres.

    Also read: Keylong shivers at minus 12 degrees

    Media Room and Public Communication Room set up at all HP Assembly poll counting centres. Videography and CCTV coverage will be done in all counting centres.The general public can contact on telephone No 0177-2620610 to obtain information from election media centre. Poll results will be also available on ‘Himachal Janmat-2017’ mobile app and website eci.nic.in.

    Counting would commence with postal ballot papers to be counted at the R.O. table and scanned with QR reader. Thereafter EVMs counting process will start. One polling station from each HP Assembly constituency will be randomly selected for counting of VVPATs slips. In the Vidhan Sabha 2017 elections, as many as, 37, 83,580 electors including 61,915 service voters cast their vote out of 50, 25,941 total electors on 9 November 2017 with record polling percentage of 75.28 percent. About 237 candidates belonged to 18 political parties and 119 independent candidates are in the fray in this HP Assembly poll.

    Also check: Internet in Kangra Valley

    Previous articleDisconnect power & water of 55 commercial units of Dharamshala violating laws: HC
    Next articleHimachal elections: BJP wins State but loses captain
    ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

    No posts to display