BJP releases first list of 25 candidates for Shimla MC poll


The HP State BJP unit today declared first list of its 26 candidates who would be supported by the party in upcoming Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC) election.The party press release issued today said that the process of nomination has started from Friday, the saffron party cleared 25 names in one go afternoon and later in the evening name of Mohit Thakur for Panthaghati was also announced.


The process of MC elections has got a sudden spurt after the High Court of Himachal Pradesh on May 29 directed State Election Commission to constitute the new municipal corporation before June 19, 2017. After the directions from High Court, the State Election Commission had announced the poll schedule on the same day and the process of filling nomination has started from Friday. Monday is the last day for filling nomination for MC candidature.


The names of BJP candidates are as follows: Ward no 1 (Bharari)- Ruchi Sood; Ward no 2 (Ruldu Bhatta)- Sanjeev Thakur; Ward no 3 (Kaithu)- Sunil Dhar; Ward no 5 (Summer Hill) – Shushma Shandil; Ward no 6 (Tutu)- Vivek Sharma; Ward no 7 (Majaath) – Shivram Bhardwaj; Ward no 8 (Boileaugan) – Kiran Baba; Ward no 10 (Tutikandi) – Jai Chand Thakur; Ward no 11 (Nabha) – Hema Kashyap; Ward no 13 (Krishnanagar) – Vittu Panna; Ward no 15 (Lower Bazar) – Navin Sood; Ward no 16 (Jakhu) – Anjana Thakur; Ward no 17 (Benmore) – Kimmi Sood; Ward no 18 (Engine Ghar) – Aarti Chauhan; Ward no 19 (Sanjauli Chowk) – Satya Kaundal; Ward no 21 (Mashobra) – Shailendra Chauhan; Ward no 22 (Shanti Bihari) – Pratibha Bali; Ward no 23 (Bhattakafur) – Shital Verma; Ward no 24 (Saangti) – Nisha Verma; Ward no 25 (Malyana) – Dalip Singta; Ward no 26 (Panthaghati) – Mohit Thakur; Ward no 28 (Chhota Shimlai) – Vidushi Sharma; Ward no 29 (Vikas Nagar) – Suman Kumari. Ward no 30 (Kangna Ghar) – Renu Chauhan; Ward no 31 (Patyog) – Asha Sharma; Ward no 32 (New Shimla) – Vijay Parmar.


The ruling Congress is yet to announce, while the other politically strong outfit in Shimla, CPI (M) is also to announce its candidates yet.

Previous articleHPFA opens registration of football clubs
Next article400 students of various schools celebrate Environment-Day
ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

No posts to display