Tibetan community gets place in Dharamshala Municipal Corporation councilors


The Himachal Pradesh State Government Department of Urban Development, in a notification on Thursday, have nominated Mr. Dawa Ringchain of the Tibetan Community of Mcleodganj area of Dharamshala as the Municipal Councilor of recently formulated Dharamshala Municipal Corporation. Dawa is the 1st Tibetan to be inducted in Municipality of Dharamshala. The spokesperson of HP Government said that as a large number of Tibetan refugees are residing in Mcleodganj and other areas of MC Dharamshala, the inclusion of Dawa  in Corporation will help the community.


The notification has also intimated the inclusion of another councilor, Mr. Shubham Sud of Sidhwari area. With the inclusion of these two the total number of nominated councilors have risen to five, which include already nominated Smt. Babita Devi, Sh. Sandeep Bains and Sh. Ranjinder Kumar. In addition to these five nominated members, Dharamshala Municipal Corporation also have 17 elected Councilors from different wards.


The Dharamshala Municipal Corporation is the second MC of Himachal after Shimla’s Municipal Corporation. Dharamshala City is also enjoying the status of the only city of Himachal chosen to be a smart city, one of 100 in India.

Previous articlePong Dam welcomes first two pair of Greater Flamingos
Next articleTrump administration will continue to encourage dialogue between Beijing and Representatives of Tibet’s “Government in Exile” and/or the Dalai Lama
Arvind Sharma is a permanent resident of Dharamshala in HP, and is an award winning bi-lingual journalist with more than 22 years of experience. He started his writing career from local weekly Himachal Kesri and later worked with Divya Himachal, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhaskar, Vir Partap and Ajit. Currently, he is working with news agency PTI. He was conferred with the Himachal Kesri journalism award in 2010.

No posts to display