Hamirpur erupts in joy after the election of Mr. Anurag Thakur as BCCI Chief


    There was a mass jubilation in various parts of the Hamirpur district on Sunday when news about Anurag Thakur, local MP becoming the new BCCI Chief erupted in media.

    People danced in joy and sweets were distributed among them to observe this occasion. Enthusiastic party leaders and workers went to the house of Anurag Thakur at Samirpur village and offered congratulations to his family. The HP State Cricket Association has decided to accord a rousing reception to Anurag Thakur on his arrival at Hamirpur after the ongoing IPL-2016 tournament.

    Former Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Mr. Prem Kumar Dhumal who is the proud father of Anurag Thakur said that whatever Anurag is today, that was due to his hard work and luck. He said that Himachal Pradesh would benefit much under his leadership in the game of cricket.

    The three timers MP from Hamirpur on BJP ticket, Mr. Anurag Thakur is born cricketer and has vast experience of playing cricket. His cricketing journey began at the age of 14 as a young player and soon he led the Punjab U-16 team that won the all India Vijay Merchant Trophy. Later he captained the Punjab U-19 and North Zone U-19 team that won the All India Championship.

    At the age of 25, Anurag Thakur was elected President, HPCA, becoming the youngest person to head a state cricket association affiliated with the BCCI.

    Fuelled by a vision to bring international cricket to Himachal Pradesh and provide a platform for aspiring cricketers Anurag Singh Thakur focused his energies on creating modern infrastructure. His efforts resulted in setting up the magnificent HPCA Stadium at Dharamshala, a state of the art facility recently granted test status. Apart from Dharamsala, Himachal also boasts of excellent cricket infrastructure at Bilaspur, Una, Amtar, Pragati Nagar and Laal Pani.

    At the BCCI Anurag Thakur has played a significant role from 2001 to 2004 as a National Junior Selector. Thereafter, in September 2011, he was elevated to the position of Joint Secretary of the BCCI, where his role primarily was to harness young talent and develop junior cricket. In a quest to do so, he initiated regular overseas tour for Under 19 and India A to fortify bench strength and provide a platform to upcoming players.

    In March 2015 Anurag Thakur was elected Secretary BCCI and ushering in reforms and pushing forward the agenda of good governance have marked his tenure. His commitment to professionalism led to key appointments and firm belief in openness and transparency resulted in greater information sharing and constructive engagement with fans and other stakeholders.

    In his tenure as Secretary, the BCCI successfully organized the ICC World T20 2016 in India. He is the only leader to be re-appointed for a third term as the National President of BJYM, the youth wing of the BJP.

    Within Parliament he serves as Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on IT and Member of Public Accounts Committee. He is also the member of Steering Committee of the Parliamentary Forum of WTO.

    He is a recipient of the Best Young Parliamentarian Award in 2011 and recognized as a “Young Global Leader” by the World Economic Forum. In a nationwide survey in the run-up to the 2014 General elections he was rated among st India’s Top 10 MP’s based on his Parliamentary performance and commitments to society at large.

    Previous articleManali-Leh National Highway opens for vehicular traffic
    Next articleDharamshala figures third among upcoming smart cities

    No posts to display