Anand Sharma elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha MP from HP


    anandsharmaThe former Union Minister and Deputy leader of Rajya Sabha, Mr. Anand Sharma was today unanimously elected unopposed for lone Rajya Sabha seat from Himachal Pradesh as the main opposition BJP opted not to file any candidate against him and Secretary Vidhan Sabha this afternoon.

    After the scrutiny of papers, Mr. Sharma was issued the certificate of election by Vidhan Sabha secretary Mr. Sunder Lal Verma this afternoon. He was accompanied by President of State Congress unit Mr. Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu and members of State Government, senior congress leaders and legislators.

    Interacting to the media persons Mr. Sharma said that it was his third attempt from State to elect for the upper house as he had been earlier elected from the State in 1984 and 2003.

    Before departing to Delhi Mr. Sharma told media persons that he had consulted chief minister Mr. Virbhadra Singh today to take up the issue of granting of Special category status to this hill state and pressing release of grant in aids withholds by the Centre.

    Previous articleHP single window clears 28 investment proposals worth Rs. 968 Cr.
    Next articleDebate on Budget: Opposition raises issues of cancellation of Indo-Pak match at Dharamshala

    No posts to display