The 46th Statehood Day celebrated at Jaisinghpur


The 46th Statehood Day of Himachal Pradesh was celebrated with great gaiety today. Chief Minister Mr. Virbhadra Singh presided over the Statehood Day function organized at Jaisinghpur in Kangra district. He hoisted the National flag and took the salute from the impressive march past by contingents of Police, Home Guards, NCC Cadets and school children.

He hoisted the National flag and took the salute from the impressive march past by contingents of Police, Home Guards, NCC Cadets and school children.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said 25 January is a historic day for the people of Himachal Pradesh as this hilly State got Statehood status on this day. He remembered the 1st Chief Minister of the State Dr. Y.S. Parmar and former Prime Minister late Smt. Indira Gandhi who played a significant role in getting Statehood status for the State in 1971.

He said that the real credit of the unprecedented development goes to the hardworking people of the State and also to the leadership provided by successive Congress Governments at the Centre and the State.

Mr. Virbhadra Singh announced Sub-Divisional offices at Nagrota-Bagwan and Shahpur, HPSEB division, DSP office and Fire Brigade unit at Jaisinghpur and up-gradation of Panchrukhi Police Post to fully fledged Police Station in Kangra district. He also announced Government Degree College at Rakkar in Dehra sub-division and to take Sugh-Bhatoli and S.D Rajpur private colleges under the control of State Government.

He announced upgradations of Government Middle School Jhunga-Devi to Government High School and Government High School Harsi to Government Senior Secondary School and construction of science block at Jaisinghpur College and starting of science classes at Government Senior Secondary School Sari.

He also announced up-gradation of Government High School Tangroti to Government Senior Secondary School. He also announced the construction of additional accommodation in PWD rest house Jaisinghpur and new Primary Health Centre (PHC) at Jagrupnagar besides a Veterinary Hospital at Harsi.

The Chief Minister said Dharamshala had been made second Municipal Corporation of the State to ensure planned development of the town. He said Chadiar, Haripur, Gangath, Panchrukhi, Alampur and Darini were made Sub-Tehsils and Dadasiba as Tehsil by the present Government.

Apart from this, a new sub-division had been approved for Jawalamukhi whereas Tehsil Welfare Offices had been opened at Shahpur, Nagrota Bagwan and at Rakkar in Pragpur in Dehra sub-division.

Counting the developments achieved in the Kangra district during last 3 years, he said a sum of Rs. 26 crore was being spent under Rajiv Gandhi Electrification programme and to give flip to tourism in the district approval had been given for Himani-Chamunda rope-way and the foundation stone of rope-way between Dharamsala to Mcleodganj had been laid which would be completed within 1.5 years.

The work to replace the old transformers in Dharamsala and Yol Cantt was in progress and Rs 3.60 crore new electric Sub-station would be constructed at Damtal. The Chief Minister also distributed the prizes to the participants of the cultural troops.

Previous articleState election commission unit takes part in National Voters Festival
Next article5 persons including a women nabbed with illicit Charas & Heroin

No posts to display