Congress’s Dharmila Harnot elected as Zila Parishad chairman of Shimla


    Zila Parishad member from Basantpur was today elected as Zila Parishad chairman of Shimla district as she was unanimously nominated for this post in election meeting held by newly elected members abstain by BJP and CPI(M) members.

    Deputy Commissioner Shimla Mr. Dinesh Malhotra said that Ms. Dharmila Harnot was elected as President and Mr. Surender Rakta of Rohru as Vice President. The meeting was attended by 15 members of Congress affiliated elected Zila Parishad members.

    The post of Zila Parishad was reserved for woman candidates. For three tire Panchayat Raj Election held early this month, the Congress affiliated candidates (not on party symbol) won 15 seats, BJP 5 and CPI (M) 2 and Independent 1.

    Members of BJP and Congress abstain the election proceeding.

    Previous articleTwo people booked for NDPS in Shimla
    Next articleState election commission unit takes part in National Voters Festival

    No posts to display