Indo-Pak and Australia-New Zealand T20 world Cup matches at Dharamshala next year


Host India, which won the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007 shall meet its traditional rival Pakistan (Winner of 2009 Championship) in the beautiful hills of Dharamshala on 19 March 2016.

Besides this high voltage thriller, Dharamshala shall also host arch-rival Australia and New Zealand shall also lock their horns in Dharamshala a day before. Dharamshala shall also host two ladies world cup T 20 Matches on 22nd and 24th March next year.

6 qualifier matches including 3 of Bangladesh shall also be staged in Dharamshala on 9th, 11th and 13th March which shows that Dharamshala shall prove to be a very important venue in T-20 World Cup 2016.

ICC announced today that 58 men’s and women’s matches to be played at 8 venues from 8th March to 3rd April where Mumbai and New Delhi will stage semi-finals while Kolkata to stage finals. World Twenty20 India 2016, which will be staged across 8 venues in India from 8th March to 3rd April.

A total of 58 tournament matches, including 35 men’s matches and 23 women’s matches, will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi.

The 1st round matches in the men’s event will take place in Dharamshala and Nagpur from 8th -13th March and will feature Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, debutant Oman (all in Group A), Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan (all in Group B).

The group winners will join Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and host India in the Super 10 stage, which will be played alongside the women’s event from 15th -28th March.

BCCI Secretary Mr.Anurag Thakur, who is also the President of Himachal Cricket association, where the world’s most beautiful Cricket stadium is situated at Dharamshala said, “We, as hosts are fully prepared to organise one of the most entertaining spectacles in world cricket. We draw experience from hosting 3 ICC Cricket World Cups and are ready to make the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 one of the most memorable events.

Our preparations are in full swing, and BCCI and ICC is working together to make it a lifetime experience for the players and the fans. India is a vibrant country – young, full of colour, energy and exuberance and is very much like the concept of Twenty20 cricket itself. We would encourage everyone involved with the game to experience the best of India.”

Men’s Group:

  1. First round (group winners to progress to second round)
  • Group A – Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman
  • Group B – Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan
  1. Second round groups
  • Super 10 Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner group B (Q1B)
  • Super 10 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner group A (Q1A)

Women’s Group:

Group A – Australia (A1), South Africa (A2), New Zealand (A3), Sri Lanka (A4) and Ireland (A5)

Group B – England (B1), West Indies (B2), India (B3), Pakistan (B4) and Bangladesh (B5)

The Matches allotted for Dharamshala are:-

  • Wed, 9 Mar – Bangladesh v Netherlands, Dharamshala – 4 PM
  • Wed, 9 Mar – Ireland v Oman, Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Fri, 11 Mar – Netherlands v Oman, Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Fri, 11 Mar – Bangladesh v Ireland, Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Sun, 13 Mar – Netherlands v Ireland, Dharamshala – 4 PM
  • Sun, 13 Mar – Bangladesh v Oman, Dharamshala – 8 PM

Main Championship:-

  • Fri, 18 Mar – Australia v New Zealand, Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Sat, 19 Mar – India v Pakistan, Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Tue, 22 Mar – England v India (Women), Dharamshala – 8 PM
  • Thu, 24 Mar – England v West Indies (Women), Dharamsala – 4 PM
Previous articleResident doctors in Himachal go on pen down strike
Next articleCapacity of HPCA Cricket Stadium shall be lifted by 25% before T 20 world cup: HPCA
Arvind Sharma is a permanent resident of Dharamshala in HP, and is an award winning bi-lingual journalist with more than 22 years of experience. He started his writing career from local weekly Himachal Kesri and later worked with Divya Himachal, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhaskar, Vir Partap and Ajit. Currently, he is working with news agency PTI. He was conferred with the Himachal Kesri journalism award in 2010.

No posts to display