Eleven file nominations for by-poll



Shimla: Eleven candidates have filed nomination papers for the by-elections from the two assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. On the last day of filing papers, five candidates filed nominations.

Elections from two constituencies – Rohru and Jawali – became necessary after the sitting legislators Virbhadra Singh and Rajan Sushant respectively contested and won the Lok Sabha elections in May. The Congress has fielded former minister Sujan Singh Pathania against the BJP’s Baldev Raj Chaudhary from Jawali in Kangra district.
From Rohru in Shimla district, the BJP has pitted Khushi Ram Balnath against Congress’ Manjit Singh. The last date for the withdrawal of nominations is Oct 24 and polling is slated for Nov 7.

Previous articleAshwamegh Yajana begins in Kullu
Next articleShyam Benegal film festival at Gaiety Theatre

No posts to display