Solan set to be municipal corporation



Shimla: According to reports, Solan town is set to be the second municipal corporation in Himachal Pradesh after capital city Shimla. The Urban Development Department has also identified six nagar panchayats which would be converted to municipal councils. These are Baddi, Ghuwarmi, Manali, Nagrota Bagwan, Rohru and Mehatpur.

According to set procedure, towns having a population more than 50,000 qualify to be municipal corporations, whereas local bodies having an income of more than Rs 20 lakh qualified to be municipal councils. According to sources in the department, during the Congress rule this ceiling was reduced to Rs 10 lakh to let Rohru qualify as municipal council. Now, under the same parameters five more nagar panchayats too would have to be made municipal councils.

Previous articleBeti at 30% premium, only in HPTDC hotel
Next articleGPF annual accounts statements for 2008-09 issued

No posts to display


  1. Hey I was in Manali recently and the first thing which came to my mind was that the town still had a Nagar panchayat. Hopefully with municipal council status more funds will be flow towards civic amenities. Dharamshala is a good example of the same.

Comments are closed.