BJP newly elected MLA takes oath in Himachal Pradesh assembly


By  : Mohan Verma

Wresting its lost assembly seat, independent candidate (who was supporting Congress government before), MLA Narinder Thakur got elected in recent by-election for Sujanpur seat and took oath on Tuesday.

Speaker of state legislative assembly Mr. B.B.L.Butail administrated oath to Narinder Thakur (who is son of former BJP stalwart Late Mr. Jagdev Thakur) in a simple oath taking ceremony held in chamber of speaker in
presence of number of BJP MLA’s at Shimla.

With this, number of BJP MLA’s  has increased to 27 from 26. The congress enjoys wafer thin majority in the 68th assembly, having 35 members excluding speaker. State assembly have four independent and one HLP member.

Mr. Thakur defeated Congress candidate Mrs. Anita Rana by margin of 540 votes, who was wife of former independent MLA Rajinder Singh Rana who left this seat and fought as Congress candidate for Lok Sabha seat but both lost elections.

One of the Congress MLA Ram Kumar is lodging in jail who was charged with murder of a girl and did not attended single session so far.

Previous articleKullu Zila Parishad to confer Rajiv Gandhi Bharat Ratna Award for third time
Next articleKullu experiences tremors twice in 24 hours
ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

No posts to display