783 voters of five villages to boycott LS poll in Lahaul & Spiti


By : Mohan Verma

District administration in Lahaul & Spiti of Mandi parliamentary, where wife of Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, Pratibha Singh is in the fray, have to work over time for perusing people of five villages to come for voting as having 783 voters announced the boycott of poll on the pretext of non-development.

Deputy Commissioner of Lahaul & Spiti Mr. Bir Singh told media that it was urging the villagers to not boycott the poll as their demand would be heard in the future but so far their is not a positive response.

The vice-president of Gram Panchayat, Kamdam Ashok Kumar, told that five villages including Chhaling, Jasrat and Karpet village of Udaipur having about 507 votes under Udaipur sub-division of Lahaul & Spiti decided to boycott the poll as development works like demand of foot bridge, construction of road and recruitment of staff in the school not fulfilled for long time.

Similar, Kardag and Gabjang villages near district headquarter Keylong in Lahaul sub-division having 276 votes would also abstain the polling on May 7 as villagers alleged that snow was not cleared from the road while Rohtang Pass is already opened at the high altitude.

District have about 22,581 total voters comprising of 11,281 males and 11,300 females.

About 80 polling booth have been constituted by the election commission in which Kaza in Spiti valley having largest with 700 votes and Linger village of Lahaul with 30 votes which is smallest polling booth in the district.

Hikkam in Spiti valley is highest polling booth at the height of 15,500 ft above the sea level having 333 voters.

Previous articleLast phase of election campaigning washed by rain in Himachal
Next articleHigh voter turnout in Lok Sabha elections : Himachal Pradesh

No posts to display