BJP to pit family member of Jagdev Singh for Sujanpur assembly bye election


By : Mohan Verma

Opposition BJP in this hill state decided to pit family member of Late Jagdev Singh in coming bye elections for Sujanpur Assembly segment, as this seat is vacant after resignation of BJP rebel and Congress candidate Rajinder Kumar Rana for Hamirpur Lok Sabha elections recently.

Talking to media, BJP spokesman Ganesh Dutt said that BJP will either pit Narinder Kumar Thakur who had recently returned in party fold after remaining in Congress and is also the son of BJP stalwart Jagdev Singh or former BJP MLA Urmil Thakur, who is daughter in law of Mr. Singh. The decision to choose any among the two could be taken by family members of BJP leader, he added.

The party would decide to give ticket to either of them as they are strong candidates and wrest this seat as Mr. Rana was associate member with Congress legislative party. If saffron party would manage to win this seat its strength in the state assembly will went up to 27 from 26. The Election Commission of India (ECI) also decided to held bye election for this seat along with Lok Sabha elections on May 7, 2014.

The political expert says that it was jolt for ruling Congress as it want to pit Mr. Rana again for bye elections, if he would have lost election in Lok Sabha but the decision of ECI to pre-pone the bye election along with LS has left ruling party with new option which could not be in favour of government may diminish image if it could not retain this seat. Simultaneous poll and unity in BJP camp is also equally harmful for Congress.

However Congress has yet to decide about the possible candidate for bye election from Sujanpur. Hamirpur is home district of leader of opposition and all eyes and ears are on LS seat of Hamirpur. AAP has also pitted the mother of member of Kargil hero Vikram Batra, Ms. Kamal Kanta Batra.

Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee President Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu already constituted a committee comprising of IPH minister Vidya Stokes, Health Minister Kaul Singh Thakur and Transport Minister G.S. Bali to finalize the names for bye elections.

Party has asked the district congress committee that its office bearers to apply for the ticket to HPCA till April 4, 2014 after paying sum of Rs. 10,000 for the party and HPCC would take the decisions after consulting with AICC on the recommendation of Congress committee.

Any third party has not come forth to apply for this lone bye election to be held in the state.

Previous articleBJP-AAP workers clash in Palampur : Himachal Pradesh
Next articleBJP candidate Ram Swaroop Sharma addresses public meetings in Mandi and Kullu

No posts to display