AAP decides to contest all seats in Himachal Pradesh


By : Mohan Verma

Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has decided to contest all four seats in Himachal Pradesh.

It had already fielded two candidates from Kangra and Hamirpur parliamentary seats and now decided to announce two LS seats from Mandi and Shimla reserve seats as well.

Sources who claimed them office bearers of AAP said that some names are already under consideration.

AAP’s state convener Des Raj Sharma said that announcement of candidates for the remaining two seats is expected in next couple of days as names for probable candidates are already with the national leader.

So far AAP has fielded sitting BJP MP Rajan Sushant from Kangra and Kargil martyr Vikram Batra’s mother Kamal Kanta Batra from Hamirpur.

Releasing list of 22 candidates AAP declared Jai Chand Thakur for Mandi LS seat while it yet had to decide about candidates from Shimla. Party AAP sources said that party had decided to field some unknown face for Mandi seat.

Mr. Sharma said that campaigning would gain momentum in Himachal Pradesh after April 15 with the arrival of national leaders including Arvind Kejriwal, Yoginder Yadav, Kumar Vishwas, Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Gopal Rai and Gul Panag.

Traditionally, parliamentary elections in Himachal Pradesh have remained a contest between two arch rivals Congress and BJP. There is no formidable regional party in the state and other national parties too have a nominal existence. While Congress and BJP are busy holding public meetings and big rallies, AAP candidates and cadre in the state so far have been relying on road shows and small meetings with votes.

CPIM is contesting on Shimla and Mandi seats. HLP had decided to support parties like AAP and CPIM.

Previous article‘Chaitra Navratri’ begins : long queue outside prominent shrines in Himachal
Next articleCPIM to raise peoples’ issues; declared candidate for Shimla parliamentary seat

No posts to display