Sujanpur Assembly Constituency bye-election on 7th May, 2014


By : Mohan Verma

Election Commission of India decided to conduct bye-election for Sujanpur Assembly Constituency simultaneously with the general elections of Lok Sabha in Himachal Pradesh on 7th May 2014.

Stating this here today, Chief Electoral Officer Mr. Narinder Chauhan disclosed that Election Commission of India (ECI) has decided to hold bye-election for Sujanpur Assembly Constituency on 7th May, 2014, which fell vacant due to the resignation of MLA, Mr. Rajinder Rana who got Congress ticket from Hamirpur Lok Sabha against sitting MP and HPCA & BJYM president Anurag Thakur.

Mr. Chauhan said that notification in this regard would be issued on 12 April, 2014 and the last date for filing nominations would be held on 19 April. The scrutiny of nominations would be held on 21 April and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is 23 April, 2014.

He said that the counting would be held on 16 May, 2014 and the election process shall be completed by 28 May, 2014. He said that the polling would take place on 7th May, 2014 between 0700 hours to 1800 hours along with Lok Sabha poll.

Mr. Rana was elected as independent candidate had been close to leader of opposition Prem Kumar Dhumal during his government now turned rebel against Mr. Dhumal and joined Congress quitting Assembly seat recently.

Congress also pitted another seating party MLA Mohan Bragta from Rohru assembly segment as party LS candidate from Shimla reserve seat but he is still member of assembly.

Previous articleHC permits Shimla MC to recover house tax on old pattern
Next article109 years old British era locomotive on track : Himachal Pradesh
ML Verma is a Senior journalist, with more than a decade of experience of active reporting for electronic media, news agencies and fast paced online media.

No posts to display