Dharamshala allotted two IPL matches for mid May 2014


By : Arvind Sharma

As India is going through the general elections during April/May 2014. It may clash with the schedule of IPL cricket. “The officials of BCCI and ICC shall soon meet the home ministry top officials in Delhi to finalize the season 7 IPL cricket in India, for its smooth organization in India,” Sanjay Sharma PRO, Himachal Pradesh Cricket association in Dharamshala said on Tuesday .

He said that as the dates of Indian elections are yet to be announced a situation of confusion is going on.

Sanjay said that the organizers of IPL have already announced its time table for IPL 2014, and according to it Dharamshala has been allotted two matches.

Kings XI Punjab shall play against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 16 th of May and against Mumbai Indians on 18 th of May this year in HPCA stadium at Dharamshala .

Mr. Anurag Thakur added that 4 boys of Himachal are taken by different IPL teams for this season. He said, “this is made possible due to the world’s best cricketing facilities which are being provided in Himachal by HPCA.”

Mr. Thakur said that it is really a matter of proud that Rishi Dhawan (Highest wicket taker of Ranji Trophy this year), who played for Mumbai Indians last year was sold for 3 crores for Kings XI Punjab. Another Himachali player Karan Verma is also taken by Kings XI Punjab in the current players auction. Pace bowler VJS Malik will play for Rajasthan Royals and Indian Under 19 player Ankush Bains will also play for Rajasthan Royals.

Previous articleCold wave takes two lives in Himachal
Next articleG.S. Bali protecting culprits of pulse scam : Maheshwar Singh
Arvind Sharma is a permanent resident of Dharamshala in HP, and is an award winning bi-lingual journalist with more than 22 years of experience. He started his writing career from local weekly Himachal Kesri and later worked with Divya Himachal, Dainik Jagran, Dainik Bhaskar, Vir Partap and Ajit. Currently, he is working with news agency PTI. He was conferred with the Himachal Kesri journalism award in 2010.

No posts to display