State government ensuring planned development of urban areas – Virbhadra Singh


Chief Minister Mr. Virbhadra Singh stated that state government is ensuring planned and systematic development of the urban areas with special focus on strengthening essential civic services and infrastructure.

He said that housing units were being developed in major towns of the state and 18 projects had been sent for approval to the union ministry of urban development for small and medium towns under Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme amounting to Rs. 406.32 crore. Chief Minister was speaking after laying foundation stone of construction of 328 dwelling units at Lower Barol in Dharamshala under Integrated Housing and Slum Development Project (IHSDP) today.

He also laid foundation stone of faculty house cum college canteen for Government College of Teachers Education at Dharamshala which will be constructed at a cost of Rs. 3.10 crore.

Mr. Virbhadra Singh, earlier, laid foundation stone of multi-purpose building of District Red Cross Society, Kangra at Dharamshala to be constructed at an estimated cost of Rs. 582.80 lakh. The building will have facility of guest house, creche, conference-cum-training hall, space for commercial activities along with parking for 40 vehicles.

He lauded the efforts of the District Red Cross Society in serving the suffering humanity in time of distress and undertaking various welfare activities for the needy, poor and weaker sections of the society. He said that all district units of the Red Cross Society had been rendering their valuable services and efforts were being made to expand their activities with the participation of people.

The Chief Minister announced to upgrade GPS Lugat to middle school, GMS Uttarpur in Gram Panchayat Bijapur to high school and GHS Lower Lamba Gaon to senior secondary school during his visit to Jaisinghpur constituency.

He also announced to open ayurvedic dispensary at Uttarpur. Food and Civil Supplies Minister Mr. G.S. Bali, Urban Development Minister Mr. Sudhir Sharma, President, Dharamshala Block Congress Mr. Suresh Pappi, Chairman, HP School Education Board Mr. Balbir Tegta, Director Higher Education Mr. Dinkar Burathoki, Additional Deputy Commissioner Mr. Rohan Thakur, Superintendent of Police Mr. Balbir Thakur and other prominent persons were present on the occasion.

Previous articleHP Public Service Commission installs mobile jammers in examination halls
Next articleHoly dip in Himachal Pradesh to mark Makar Sankranti

No posts to display