President to confer degrees and medals on 510 students in HPU


President of India Mr. Pranab Mukherjee would confer degrees and medals on 510 meritorious and prestigious students  during HPU’s XXth Convocation on May 24,  2013 at the University Auditorium.

Spokesman of University Ranvir Verma said in a communique released here that Mr. Mukherjee would be the chief guest on this occasion, who would also deliver the Convocation address in the gracious presence of Himachal Pradesh Governor Mrs. Urmila Singh, Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and University Chancellor.

University has shortlisted about 272 Ph.D. degrees including one most prestigious degree in Doctorate of Science would be conferred on the candidates and 244 gold medals and prizes will also be decorated on the toppers of  different classes.

Prominent among the recipients of the degrees are Prof. R.C. Sobti, Vice-Chancellor of  Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow and  former Vice-Chancellor of Panjab University Chandigarh, Governor of Nagaland and former C.B.I. Chief,  Mr. Ashwani Sharma, Additional Deputy Commissioner Shimla, Naresh Kumar Lath, Superintendent of Police Solan, Ramesh Chajta etc.

This University has already conferred the D.Lit. on the youngest receiver Dr. Mritunjaya Sharma for his contribution in the Music in the faculty of Performing and Visual Arts during 2010 Convocation.

Dr. P.N. Gautam, Professor Emeritus has been conferred D.Lit. during 2009 for his contribution in suggesting administration in the University functioning throughout India in the faculty of Social Sciences.

Previous articleMercury shoot up to highest of season
Next articleSix boys of Lawrence School scaled Mount Everest

No posts to display