Jagat Singh Negi appointed as Deputy speaker of Himachal Pradesh Assembly


Three time Congress legislator from Kinnaur was today elected as Deputy speaker of Himachal Pradesh’s 12th Legislative Assembly.

As the entire business concluded before the schedule time in the house today, Parliamentary Minister Mukesh Agnihotri urged the august house to appoint new Deputy speaker as this post was laying vacant since elections of this legislative assembly.

Speaker B.B. Butail asked the Chief Minister to announce the name of the candidate for the coveted post while opposition was staging protest in the house on another issue.

Mr. Virbhadra Singh announced the name of Mr. Jagat Singh Negi for this post which was latter seconded by IPH minister Vidya Stokes, Forest Minister Thakur Singh Bharmori and Congress Member Ravi Thakur.

The speaker presented the proposal of Chief Minister to elect Mr. Negi, who was elected with beating of benches by the Congress member with voice vote unanimously as BJP did not joined in the elections.

Mr. Agnihotri went up to chair of new deputy speaker giving regard to him and latter Mr. Singh also greeted the new deputy speaker for his election.

Previous articleH.P. Assembly budget session from today
Next articleH.P. registers two death cases as 24 swine flu positive cases were up

No posts to display