HPCC president post fell vacant after resignation of Virbhadra Singh


Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee president post is lying vacant after resignation of Chief Minister Mr. Virbhadra Singh, who took oath of office on Dec 25, 2012.

According to party general secretary and in-charge of party state affairs Mr. Birender Singh, Mr. Virbhadra Singh has resigned from the post on the very day he took oath of chief minister’s office. Mr. Singh was on party’s top post, which he took over in August last year, two months ahead of the assembly polls. He is still a member of the Lok Sabha, which also he will quit soon.

AICC general secretary Asha Kumari, who was elected for assembly from Dalhousie, Former Revenue Minister Mr. Brij Bihari Lal Butail, who is known for his reputed leadership from Kangra district including former HPCC president Viplav Thakur, state party vice-president Harsh Mahajan are prominent among the party leaders who could hold the state party leadership. But Mr. Mahajan is already given plum post by Mr. Singh after appointing him Chairman of Himachal Pradesh State Co-operative Bank having chain of about 115 bank branches in the state and country.

Mr. Singh could also bat for other leaders in the state unit but most of them lost recent assembly elections including former Speaker Gangu Ram Musafir, Ram Lal Thakur, Rangila Ram Rao and Kuldeep Singh Pathania. Despite the fact he lost assembly elections recently, Mr. Pathania was given lucrative seat of Chairman of state pollution control board by Mr. Singh yesterday as he is considered close to Mr. Singh.

The lobbying seems to begin in the state unit as AICC could convene meeting to elect new state chief soon. Mr. Singh who was leading a section in the party is considered most powerful and would prefer the HPCC president on his terms to keep tandem with state government.

Previous articleHelicopter services on demand for tribal areas of Himachal Pradesh
Next articleCold conditions further aggravated in Himachal

No posts to display