HPU reinstates terminated teachers



Shimla: The Himachal Pradesh University on Saturday reinstated three teachers appointed during the previous BJP regime and terminated by the Virbhadra Singh government that had described the appointments as ‘irregular’ and candidates as ‘ineligible’.

The decision to reinstate them was taken in the Executive Council Meeting of HPU chaired by Vice-chancellor Sunil Gupta. Immediately after coming to power, the BJP government had formed a committee headed by former MP Kripal Parmar to review the finding of the previous committee headed by Kaul Singh Thakur that annulled the appointments.  Parmar in his report is reported to have said that ‘the Kaul Committee did not give a chance of personal hearing to the teachers and the act was part of political vendetta’. The three teachers reinstated are Ajai Srivastava, Kuldeep Singh Agnihotri and Mamta Sharma.

Reinstatement of security officer IS Dogra, whose services were also terminated along with that of the three teachers, has been deferred as he could not produce documents in support of his case.

Previous articleViolence in HPU: Please leave the students alone, honourable ministers
Next articleCan the Shimla admn teach coolies some ‘lessons’?

No posts to display