Hamirpur by-poll: OP Rattan frontrunner for Congress ticket


Shimla: The Congress party on Saturday discussed four names for the forthcoming Hamirpur Parliamentary bypoll including those of former MLA OP Rattan, Tara Chand Chaudhary, Ranjit Singh Verma and MPS. Rana and forwarded the list to the party’s center election committee headed by UPA president Sonia Gandhi, who would take the final decision.
As of now, former UNA MLA OP Rattan appears to be the likely candidate, as sources said that during the meeting there was a general consensus on his name. The meeting was attended by party in-charge for Himachal affairs RK Dhawan, former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, president of Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee Viplove Thakur and leader of the Congress Legislative Party Vidya Stokes.
During the recently-held Assembly polls, Rattan was given a ticket from Una, but his name was found missing in the final list.
The BJP has already forwarded the name of Anurag Thakur, son of Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal.

Previous articleSeven houses gutted near Rohru
Next article157 new teaching posts in HPU

No posts to display