Two new private universities in Himachal


Shimla: The Himachal Pradesh government today unanimously adopted resolutions moved under the Private Universities Act to set up two new universities in the state.
Education Minister I.D. Dhiman today moved two resolutions in the house for setting up Chitkara University in Kalu Jhanda of Barotiwala in district Solan and Eternal University in Baru Sahib in district Sirmour. With this the number of proposed private universities under the Himachal Pradesh Private Universities Act (Establishment and Maintenance Act) 2006, has gone up to six.
So far the government has issued letter of intent for setting up four other private universities in the state. This includes Centre for Advanced Studies in Engineering (of Delhi), Institute of Chartered Financial Analysis of India (ICFAI), Amity and Lee Magnus (of KD Trust).

Previous articleNew transfer policy: Himachal govt fixes minimum tenure of 3 years
Next articleHimachali heritage and an outsider’s perspective

No posts to display