CPIM to contest on 7 seats in Himachal; alliance only with secular parties


By: Hema D

Shimla: Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM) has decided to contest seven seats, including the seat of state Capital Shimla town, in the second phase of Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections that are schedule for December 19. Secretary of CPIM, HP State Committee Rakesh Singha announced the names in presence of the CPIM Polit Bureau member Sita Ram Yechury, in Shimla today.

Sanjay Chauhan, incharge of the Shimla district would contest from Shimla (constituency number 8), Kapoor Singh Supahya from Dharamshala, Ramesh Chand from Anni, Satpal Singh from Sulah, Jagdish Thakur from Chachiot, Ram Krishan Sharma from Arki and Narayan Singh Chauhan from Banjar.

It is mentioned that the party had not contested any seat in the first phase of elections held for the three tribal constituencies of Bharmaur, Pangi and Kinnaur.

Later talking to the media persons today Sita Ram Yechury said, “The CPIM would fight against the anti-people policies of the Congress as well as the BJP in all the seven constituencies where it is contesting.”

Replying to a question on eventual support during formation of the government he said that the CPIM would not support any parties that support communalism, like the BJP and will enter into alliance only with secular forces.

When asked about coming in alliance with Mayawati’s BSP he did not completely rule out, being one of the ally in a tripartite government, including BSP as one party. Yet he said, “In order to cash any opportunity to form a government Mayawati has never hesitated to join hands with BJP, but we would not support such an alliance. The alliance with Mayawati, Congress or other secular candidates would be on the basis of a certain policy, like the Common Minimum Programme at the centre level, which promotes the benefit of working class and the farmers.”

Previous articlePeople’s manifesto released in Himachal Pradesh
Next articleShanta, Dhumal not in first list

No posts to display